What do you expect from me this year?

 I asked the question at the start of last year in my first lesson with my new GCSE Triple Science class: What do you expect from me this year?

Every student got a post-it note and was asked to write down what their expectations of their new science teacher were. I asked for this to be anonymous (risky perhaps?) but I really wanted to know what they thought rather than what they thought I wanted them to say.

I was really pleased with the attitude towards the task. A student collected the post-its and the pile sat on my desk.

I took the opportunity to post my expectations for the class which were:

  • Have confidence in your own ability – I will not be asking you to do something I believe you cannot complete well.
  • Complete your homework on time to the best standard you can and meet deadlines or face the consequences gracefully.
  • Be respectful to each other, to me and of the chemicals/equipment we will use.
  • Read my feedback and that of your peers and act upon it.
  • Always have a go!

Then the year was underway and off we went delving into the B1 theory of GCSE AQA Biology!

Approximately half way through the lesson, my curiosity got the better of me and so I decide to look at the post-its. I began to read . I was so pleased as many of the comments were just as I would have hoped for. There was of course the ever hopeful “No homework” pleas! Wouldn’t we have said the same?

IMAG0652[1]IMAG0650[1]IMAG0659[1]

Suddenly there was some fidgeting on the left hand side of the room. George (his name has been changed just in case!) was beaming from ear to ear and staring at me waiting intently for my reaction. The two other lads on his table were also restless and so I knew there was a ringer in the pile of post its. There it was…..

IMAG0655[1]

I waxed lyrical to the group about how our expectations were all the same and what a good year we were going to have together. George was still beaming and willing me to say something. I decided to tactically ignore the duck face post it for now. After all, George was hanging on my every word so why spoil the moment!

At the end of the lesson, as I set the homework I quietly mentioned that it was the first time anyone had ever thought I had looked like a duck and showed the class the drawing. They all laughed and I hammed it up saying they could have at least said I didn’t look like a duck but hey it was quite cute. George was beside himself and in the end he couldn’t help but come up to me and ask me if I thought he had done it. The class went quiet to see what I would do. I just laughed and said I had no idea who it was.

At the end of the academic year, I got the post its out again and put them on the board and asked the class to walk past and familiarise themselves with what they had written in September. I gave them a new post it and asked them to do two things- on one side write down how they felt they had lived up to my expectations and on the other side- how had I lived up to their expectations.

George couldn’t help but say “Miss, mine isn’t there.” At which point I said ” Mmm, Duck face?” and smiled. He promised to do the exercise properly this time and produced the following post it note. The class was once again asked to do this anonymously, but George wanted me to see his final message and handed it to me personally.

IMAG0668[1]

I was blown away by the positivity of the class response to my teaching and also their honesty about themselves. I shall keep these post its for a long time and it is certainly something I will do again.

IMAG0674[1]

Can't win them all!
Can’t win them all! But the student did feel I had pushed them and had high expectations whilst maintaining respect.

Why not be brave and have a go? I think you will be surprised at how much most students have the same desires to succeed as you do for them.

I would love to hear what you think of my first blog post and how your first day has gone.

Leave a Reply

